Sexual exploitation of children in travel and tourism

It can be defined as “the sexual exploitation of children by people who travel from one location to another and there engage in sexual acts with minors”.
ESET

Sexual exploitation of children in travel and tourism is not a form of tourism. This is why ECPAT recommends no longer using the term “sex tourism” but instead recommends using the phrase “sexual exploitation of children in travel and tourism”. Indeed, this particular form of exploitation is directly linked to child prostitution but takes place within travelling and touristic environments occurring outside the perpetrator’s residential area. Often, they travel from a richer country to one that is less developed, but they can also be traveling within their own countries or region. 

A growing phenomenon

The recent spread of this phenomenon is linked to different factors, such as increasing poverty rates in developing countries and rising numbers of travellers, which is due in particular to the ease and affordability of international travel. The trivialization of the commercial use of the human body and the climate of anonymity created by the travelling experience, which disconnects the traveller from the social conventions that normally govern behavior in the home country or area, are other explaining factors of this developing phenomenon.

 Most affected countries

Countries such as Thailand and Brazil are notably known to be a hub for this type of sexual exploitation of children; however, destinations of such sexual exploitation of children in travel and tourism frequently evolve and change. For instance, as soon as prevention and protection efforts are intensified in a country, a neighbouring country can become the target of such phenomenon. This “migration of harmful behaviour” has occurred in Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam, due to the implementation of policies in Thailand for the prevention and repression of sexual exploitation of children in tourism. Beyond Asia, a number of Central and South American countries such as Brazil, Bolivia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, and African countries such as South Africa, Zambia, Kenya, Madagascar, Senegal, Morocco, Cameroon as well as Eastern European countries, have fallen victim to this type of scourge.

 Originating countries of offenders

In contrast, originating countries of offenders are predominantly western countries such as countries of Western Europe, Australia, United States of America, Canada, New Zealand and Japan as well as Korea, China, Russia and many more. The economic supremacy of these originating countries and the lack of adequate legislation on this matter in the recipient countries, are some of the reasons explaining these travelling flows.

Follow us
Join us: Google Plus
1358 people like Ecpat France
The ecpat circle
Discover the companies, institutions and foundations supporting ECPAT France
Read more

Exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans les voyages et le tourisme

Elle se définit comme "l’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants par les personnes qui voyagent d’un endroit à un autre et qui s’adonnent à des actes sexuels avec des mineurs."
ECPAT International, 2008
ESET

L’exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans les voyages et le tourisme n’est pas une forme de tourisme. C’est la raison pour laquelle ECPAT recommande de ne plus parler de « tourisme sexuel » mais bien d’ »exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans les voyages et le tourisme ». En effet cette forme d’exploitation est directement liée à la prostitution des enfants mais s’effectue à travers les structures mises en place pour les voyages et le tourisme et s’opère en dehors de la zone de résidence des auteurs d’abus. Souvent, ceux-ci voyagent d’un pays plus riche vers un pays moins développé, mais il peut également s’agir de personnes voyageant dans leur propre pays ou région. 

 Un phénomène en constant développement 

Le développement récent de ce phénomène est lié à différents facteurs, tels que la pauvreté grandissante dans les pays en développement et l’augmentation des flux de voyageurs, due notamment à la démocratisation du voyage. La banalisation de l’usage commercial du corps ou encore le climat d’anonymat créé par le contexte du voyage qui éloigne le voyageur des codes sociaux déterminant habituellement son comportement dans son pays ou région d’origine, sont d’autres éléments expliquant l’amplification du phénomène.

 Les pays les plus touchés 

Des pays comme la Thaïlande ou le Brésil sont particulièrement connus pour être le théâtre de cette forme d’exploitation sexuelle des enfants. Toutefois, les destinations de l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans les voyages et le tourisme évoluent rapidement et fréquemment. Dès que la prévention et les efforts de protection s’intensifient dans un pays, le pays voisin peut à son tour connaître un développement de ce phénomène. Cette « migration du fléau » s’est notamment produite au Cambodge, au Laos et au Vietnam du fait de la mise en place, en Thaïlande, d’une politique de prévention et de répression pour lutter contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans le tourisme. Au-delà de l’Asie, de nombreux pays en Amérique centrale et du sud (Brésil, Bolivie, Cuba, République Dominicaine..), en Afrique (Afrique du Sud, Zambie, Kenya, Madagascar, Sénégal, Maroc, Cameroun..) ou en Europe de l’est sont aussi victimes de ce fléau.

 Les pays émetteurs 

A l’inverse, les pays d’origine de ces voyageurs sont avant tout des pays occidentaux : pays d’Europe de l’Ouest, Australie, Etats-Unis, Canada, Nouvelle Zélande, Japon, mais également Corée, Chine, Russie… La suprématie économique des pays émetteurs et l’absence de lois des pays récepteurs sont des raisons souvent évoquées pour expliquer ces flux.

Suivez-nous
Rejoignez-nous sur: Google Plus
1358 personnes aiment Ecpat France
Le cercle Ecpat
Découvrez les entreprises, institutions, fondations qui font partie du cercle ECPAT
En savoir plus