Child pornography

Child pornography is defined as “Any representation, by whatever means, of a child engaged in real or simulated explicit sexual activities or any representation of the sexual parts of a child for sexual purposes”.
pedoporno modif

As defined in the Optional Protocol (art 2c) of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography, 2000.

 Child pornography through static images

It can include photographs, visual and audio representations and writing and can be distributed through magazines, books, drawings, movies, videotapes, mobile phones and computer disks or files. Generally speaking, there are two categories of pornography: that which is not sexually explicit but involves naked and seductive images of children, and that which presents explicit images of children engaged in sexual activity. New technologies and the growth of the internet have greatly facilitated the production of child pornography. Digital technology has allowed a simpler and cheaper manner of producing material, and the risk of detection is reduced since it is no longer necessary to use third parties to develop Images, thus safeguarding the anonymity of abusers. The characteristics of the internet encourage impunity in relation to these crimes. For instance, websites are constantly evolving and shifting. As the internet is not confined by boundaries, national legislation can easily be bypassed rendering detection and prosecution of offenders extremely difficult. As a result, many questions arise, especially regarding the location of the violation. Where does the criminal act take place: where the image is produced, where the image is stored, where the image is viewed?

 Live streaming of child pornography

Some individuals also use the internet (particularly on chat sites) and ask young people online to perform strip teases and other pornographic acts in front of a camera streaming live images directly to the viewer. Even though this practice is not by itself a form of sexual exploitation for commercial purposes (as there is no monetary exchange), it can however become so when these videos are then available for purchase on the internet. This is also true regarding pornographic videos filmed between teenagers, sometimes as a game, sometimes in exchange for money or for a benefit in kind (smartphones, etc.). These images can also be sold thereafter, and circulate on the internet.

 Virtual Child pornography

Virtual images of child pornography are images that have been distorted one way or another, so that the individual on the image is not a “real” child or teenager. It is the case of images portraying adult bodies onto which have been pasted children faces. Another example is animations created by using a computer program or cartoons, such as the Japanese comics “manga”. While some images depict children or teenagers engaging in sexual activities, others depict violent scenes of sexual abuse including gang rapes. Nevertheless, child pornography is not just about images of naked and abused children. Indeed, these images contribute to cultivate the sexual exploitation of children by standardizing ideas and promoting the desire to engage in sexual intercourse with children. In this way, images can prompt consumers to act upon their desires. According to Roland Coutanceau, psychiatrist and criminologist, the rate of acting-out their desires for individuals who consume such images still remains unknown. Worldwide, 10% of those who access and visit child pornographic websites, have already been prosecuted for sexual assault. In other words, 90% of them do not have a known history of sexual assault. However, a Canadian study has shown that 40% of individuals consuming child pornographic material have confessed to psychiatrists that they have already physically abused a child.  One can deduce that, in France, among the 90% who have no criminal record, some may have already acted out an offence against a child…”[1]

 A new phenomenon: child grooming 

Child grooming comprises actions deliberately undertaken with the aim of establishing an emotional connection with a child, to lower the child’s inhibitions in order to sexually abuse the child. Child grooming is a flourishing phenomenon online. Child grooming may be used to lure minors into trafficking of children such as child prostitution, or the production of child pornography. In 2011, according to EU kids online, 19% of 11-16 year olds in France have sent or published sexual messages online, while 3% have seen or received such messages. In January 2006, the NCTE (National Council of teachers of English) carried out a large-scale survey of children’s use of the Internet in order to identify their online risk behaviour. 848 students between the ages of 9 and 16 in over 21 schools across Ireland completed questionnaires containing over 100 questions on their use of the Internet. The findings from this survey are quite puzzling: 24% of the children who met in real life someone that they first met on the internet said that the person who introduced themselves to them on the Internet as a child, turned out to be an adult in real life. It seems clear that there are individuals who will use online services to make contact with children in order to exploit them.

 The diverse realities of child pornography

The question of whether we should continue to use the term “child pornography” arises as it does not describe accurately the various realities which affect the problem. For instance, this is true of images that will not necessarily be classified as pornographic but that can be distributed or used for sexual purposes. Furthermore, the type of images portraying children which might attract sexual interest largely varies upon the person viewing such images. Finally, the term “pornography” can give the false impression that the child has accepted to participate in the creation and recording of such images. For all these reasons, several child protection organizations are now using terms “child sexual abuse materials” instead of “child pornography” even though the latter is still extensively used in most legal documents and legislation worldwide.

 A few illustrative figures

According to Najat M’jid Maalla, Special Rapporteur of the UN Human Rights Council, on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography: “ the number of sites devoted to child pornography worldwide is growing (…) The number of predators connected to the Internet at any one time is estimated to be 750,000.” UNICEF estimates that there are more than 4 million websites portraying images of young minors, including some children who are less than two years old. According to the UN, It is estimated that 200 new images of sexual exploitation of children are put into circulation every day. [1] Tiffany Blandin, « Plus d’hommes qu’on ne croit sont attirés par les images d’enfants – Interview de Roland Coutanceau, psychiatre », Libération, 14 avril 2010

Follow us
Join us: Google Plus
1358 people like Ecpat France
The ecpat circle
Discover the companies, institutions and foundations supporting ECPAT France
Read more

Pornographie enfantine

On entend par pornographie enfantine toute représentation, par quelque moyen que ce soit, d’un enfant s’adonnant à des activités sexuelles explicites, réelles ou simulées, ou toute représentation des organes sexuels d’un enfant, à des fins principalement sexuelles.

pedoporno modif

Définition tirée de l’article 2c du Protocole facultatif à la Convention Internationale des Droits de l’Enfant, concernant la vente d’enfants, la prostitution des enfants et la pornographie mettant en scène des enfants, 2000

 La pédopornographie à travers l’imagerie fixée 

Elle peut inclure des photographies, des négatifs, des diapositives, des livres, des films, des vidéos enregistrées, des CD/DVD ou des fichiers informatiques. De manière générale, on distingue entre deux catégories de pédopornographie, celle non explicite ou soft, montrant des images aguichantes d’enfants nus, et celle explicite ou hard (dure), dont les images révèlent des enfants se livrant à des activités sexuelles. Les nouvelles technologies ont facilité considérablement la production de pornographie enfantine. Le numérique a permis de la fabriquer plus simplement et à meilleur marché, et le risque de découverte est moindre puisqu’il n’est plus nécessaire de faire appel à des tiers pour développer les images, préservant ainsi l’anonymat des abuseurs. Les caractéristiques d’internet favorisent, en outre, l’impunité de ces crimes. Les sites sont en perpétuelle mouvance. Internet n’ayant aucune considération en termes de frontières, les législations nationales peuvent être facilement contournées, rendant ainsi la détection et les poursuites particulièrement difficiles. De nombreuses questions se posent, notamment quant à la localisation de l’infraction. Où se situe l’acte criminel : là où l’image est produite, là où l’image est stockée, ou là où l’image est regardée ?

 La pédopornographie “live” (en direct) 

Certaines personnes se rendent également sur le net (sur des sites de chat notamment) et demandent en ligne à des jeunes de réaliser des strip-teases ou des actes pornographiques devant une caméra qui retransmet les images en direct à l’internaute. Si cette pratique n’est pas en elle-même une forme d’exploitation sexuelle à des fins commerciales (puisqu’il n’y a pas d’échange d’argent), elle peut toutefois le devenir lorsque ces vidéos se retrouvent en vente sur internet. Ceci est également vrai pour les vidéos pornographiques tournées entre adolescents, parfois comme un jeu, parfois contre une rémunération ou un avantage en nature (portable, etc.). Ces images peuvent aussi être vendues par la suite et circuler sur Internet.

 La pédopornographie virtuelle 

Les images virtuelles de pornographie enfantine sont des images qui ont été modifiées d’une manière ou d’une autre, de telle sorte que la personne sur l’image n’est pas un « vrai » enfant ou adolescent. C’est le cas d’images de corps adultes sur lesquels ont été collés des visages d’enfants. Un autre exemple est une animation réalisée en utilisant un programme informatique ou de dessins animés, parfois appelés “manga”. Alors que certaines de ces images incluent des scènes où des adolescents ou des enfants sont engagés dans une relation sexuelle, d’autres montrent des scènes très violentes d’abus incluant des viols collectifs. Toutefois la pornographie enfantine n’est pas qu’une question d’enfants nus et abusés. En effet, ces images contribuent au système d’exploitation des enfants, en “normalisant” l’idée et en promouvant le désir d’avoir des relations sexuelles avec eux. Elles peuvent ainsi inciter les consommateurs de ces images à passer à l’acte. Selon Roland Coutanceau, psychiatre-criminologue, “le taux de passage à l’acte des adeptes de ces images est encore mal connu. Dans le monde 10% des personnes qui surfent sur des sites pédopornographiques ont déjà été condamnés pour agression sexuelle. Autrement dit, 90% n’ont pas dans leur passé d’agression sexuelle connue. Mais une étude canadienne montre que 40% d’entre eux avouent aux psychiatres avoir déjà agressé physiquement un enfant. On peut en déduire que, en France, parmi les 90% qui n’ont aucun antécédent judiciaire, certains sont peut-être déjà passés à l’acte…”[1]

 Un phénomène nouveau : le grooming 

Le grooming, qui consiste à établir des liens émotionnels avec un mineur et à inhiber ses préjugés afin d’en tirer des faveurs sexuelles, est un phénomène florissant sur internet. Le grooming est particulièrement employé pour inciter l’enfant à s’engager dans la prostitution ou à se laisser convaincre d’enregistrer des images pornographiques. Une enquête publiée par le réseau scientifique européen Eu Kids Online en 2011 constate que 19% des enfants français de 11 à 16 ans affirment avoir envoyé ou publié des messages à caractère sexuel sur Internet tandis que 3% en aurait reçu ou vu. Le Centre National pour la Technologie dans l’Education (NCTE), une institution gouvernementale irlandaise, a également conduit une enquête approfondie sur le phénomène.  Menée auprès de 848 étudiants de 9 à 16 ans dans 21 établissements scolaires irlandais, l’étude révèle des informations surprenantes : 24% des enfants qui ont eu une rencontre réelle issue d’un premier contact virtuel ont confirmé que la personne qui s’était présentée initialement comme étant un enfant était en réalité un adulte.

 Un phénomène aux réalités diverses

La question se pose cependant de continuer à utiliser le terme de “pornographie enfantine” car il ne décrit toutes les réalités que recouvre le phénomène. C’est le cas, par exemple, des images qui ne vont pas forcément être classées pornographiques mais qui peuvent être distribuées ou utilisées à des fins sexuelles. En outre, le type d’images d’enfants qui peuvent représenter un intérêt sexuel varie largement selon la personne qui les visionne. Enfin, le terme “pornographie” peut donner l’impression que l’enfant a accepté de participer à la réalisation et à l’enregistrement de ces images. Pour toutes ces raisons, de nombreuses organisations de protection de l’enfance tendent désormais à utiliser le terme “images d’abus sexuels sur enfant” à la place de “pornographie enfantine” même si ce dernier est encore amplement utilisé dans la plupart des lois et des documents stratégiques au niveau mondial.

 Quelques chiffres

Selon Mme Najat M’jid Maala, Rapporteur spécial de l’ONU sur la vente d’enfants, la prostitution des enfants et la pornographie mettant en scène des enfants, “à l’échelle mondiale les sites pornographiques exploitant les enfants se multiplient. (…) Il y aurait plus de 750.000 prédateurs connectés à Internet en permanence”. Unicef calcule qu’il y a plus de quatre millions de sites internet présentant des photos de jeunes mineurs, y compris des enfants de moins de deux ans. Toujours selon l’ONU, plus de deux cent nouvelles images seraient quotidiennement mises en circulation. Pour plus d’information sur la violence contre les enfants dans le cyberespace cliquez ici.


[1] Tiffany Blandin, « Plus d’hommes qu’on ne croit sont attirés par les images d’enfants – Interview de Roland Coutanceau, psychiatre », Libération, 14 avril 2010
Suivez-nous
Rejoignez-nous sur : Google Plus
1358 personnes aiment Ecpat France
Le cercle Ecpat
Découvrez les entreprises, institutions, fondations qui font partie du cercle ECPAT
En savoir plus